Vianne Sekajugo and Steven Mukwala were on the score sheet as Uganda beat Zambia 2-0 in their second match of the Pre CHAN Mini Tournament at Annex 1-Omnisports- in Yaounde, Cameroon.

Ahead of kick-off, the big talk was on two old friends Uganda Cranes head coach Johnathan McKinstry and Chipolopolo’s Milutin Micho Sredojevic.

Micho took Uganda back to AFCON Finals after 39 years of waiting in 2016, so there was every reason for emotions and news headlines to be created from this moment.

However Sekajugo and Mukwala scored a goal apiece to ensure that the Cranes take all the bragging rights.

Sekajugo deployed on the left flank, kept his run simultaneously with Ibrahim Orit who was deadly with the ball from the right wing. Orit, beat his marker with his skill and pace to set up a cross but Zambia keeper Charles Kalumba let the aerial ball though his hands to drop down. Sekajugo coolly collected the ball and had all the time to think about so many options before he handed Uganda the lead.

It was a dominant performance from Cranes as Captain Halid Lwaliwa, Paul Willa, Eric Ssenjobe and Hassan Muhammad manned the defense very well.

Among other great displays, experienced Tonny Mawejje showed his class against Zambia just like he did on New Year’s day in the match with Cameroon.

Goalkeeper Nafian Alionzi was at his usual best with atleast three fine saves. Uganda has now amassed four points after drawing 1-1 with Cameroon in the opening match. Cranes will return to action on Thursday 7th January 2021 against Niger.

Uganda XI – Alionzi Nafian (GK), Ssenjobe Eric, Willa Paul, Hassan Muhammad, Lwaliwa Halid (Captain), Bobosi Byaruhanga (out), Mawejje Tonny (Out), Kyeyune Saidi(Out), Ssekajugo Vianne (Out), Orit Ibrahim(Out) and Mukwala Steven (Out).

Substitutes – Joel Mutakubwa, Tom Ikara, Aziz Kayondo, Ashraf Mandela, Mustafa Mujjuzi, Hassan Muhammad, Shafik Kagimu (In), Karim Watambala (In), Hassan Ssenyonjo (In), Ben Ocen (In), Joseph Ssemujju (In), Milton Karisa, Mohamed Shaban (In)

Zambia XI – Charles Kalumba, Adrian Chama (C), Zachariah Chilongoshi, Benedict Chepeshi, Clement Mwape, Kelvin Kapumbu, Paul Katema, Bruce Musakanya, Collins Sikombe, Moses Phiri, Emmanuel Chabula