The 11th parliament has spoken through the ballot and voted Omoro County Mp Jacob Oulanyah speaker for the next 5 years.

In a hotly contested race , Oulanyah emerged winner, trouncing over his opponents Rebbecca Kadaga-Kamuli Woman Mp and Semmujju Nganda Kira Municipality legislator.

Oulanyah who was in the lead polled 310 votes, Kadaga came in second with 197 votes while Semmujju came in the 3rd position with only 15 votes.

Other candidates including DP’s Richard Ssebamala and Rakai Woman MP Juliet Kinyamatama-independent, failed to garner even 1 vote in the race.

The speakership elections were presided over by Chief Justice Alphonse Owiny Dollo who also declared Olanyah the next speaker of parliament.

Related Stories
ENSI ENO! Kyaddaki abasawo boogedde amazima ku bulamu bwa Christian Eriksen, abazannyi ba Denmark bibasobedde

Christian Eriksen ayinza obutaddamu kusamba mupiira mu bulamu bwe n'eggwanga lya Italy okumuwera okuddamu okusambira Read more

Olulanyah took his oath of allegiance at 6:07 pm on Monday amidst ululations from Mp’s, he was then handed instruments of power including the court of arms, National flag

Oulanyah the deputy speaker of the 10th parliament was nominated by Margret Muhanga the Fort portal Woman Mp, Semmujju an opposition chief whip in the 10th parliament was nominated by Allan Sewanyana the Makindye East MP while Kadaga the former speaker was nominated by the Namayingo Woman Mp.

Mp’s nominated candidates before voting by secret ballot commenced, the votes were then tallied and the winner declared.

524 MP’s participated in the elections,522 valid votes were cast 2 invalid votes out of a total of 529 in the August house

Kadaga was on Sunday evening thrown out as the NRM flag bearer for speaker by NRM Central Executive Committee-CEC that nominated Olanyah as the only eligible candidate.

The next agenda following remarks by the speaker is to preside over the election of deputy speaker.

Article 82 of the Constitution states that the Speaker and Deputy Speaker of Parliament are supposed to be elected by MPs from among their number.

The Speaker chairs all sittings of Parliament and ensures that debates are handled in accordance with the Rules of Procedure.
As head of the institution of the Legislature, the Speaker represents Parliament in its corporate relations.
The Speaker may after consultation with the President, prorogue Parliament by proclamation.
The Speaker may also, by proclamation, appoint such a place and time within Uganda where Parliament shall sit.