EALA Representative By-elections

The Deputy Speaker of the 11th parliament has instituted a committee to vet candidates for the East African Legislative Assembly (EALA) by-election.

The by-election to replace the late Mathias Kasamba, the former representative at the Assembly is scheduled for July 26, 2021.

This team is expected to report back to parliament on July 23, ahead of voting.

The position fell vacant after Kasamba, 57 died in late April at the Nakasero Hospital. He was elected to the 4th EALA (2017-2022) in December 2017.

The verification committee appointed by the deputy speaker will be chaired by West Budama North East MP, Fox Odoi Oywelowo.

The other members on the team include; Kabula County MP Ssemwanga Gyaviira, Gomba Woman MP Sylvia Nayebare, Ik County MP Hilary Lokwang, Bugiri Municipality MP Asuman Basalirwa, and Erute County MP Jonathan Odur among others.

EALA Representative By-elections

The NRM Party Parliamentary Caucus last week endorsed former Kabula County MP James Kakooza for the position.

Kakooza who got 93 votes, beat former State Minister for Tourism Godfrey Kiwanda Ssuubi who got 85 votes whereas Abbas Mutumba had 54 votes.

Others in the race were Kenneth Nsubuga Ssebagayunga, Nakato Kyabangi and Umar Lule Mawiya.

Kakooza was declared the winner by NRM Electoral Commission chairperson Dr. Tanga Odoi.

The Government Chief Whip, Thomas Tayebwa appealed to the NRM caucus members to ensure that the position is maintained when Parliament conducts the elections.