President Yoweri Museveni has today exercised his mandate as the Commander in chief of the armed forces by retiring a total of 14 Uganda People’s Defence Forces-UPDF generals and 590 other officers.

Most of these generals have been serving even before the 1986 guerrilla war leading the National Resistance Army-NRA to capture power.

NRA, the military wing of the National Resistance Movement (NRM), was a rebel army that waged a guerrilla war, commonly referred to as the Ugandan Bush War or Luwero War, against the government of Milton Obote, and later that of Tito Okello.

After the 1995 Ugandan constitution was enacted, the NRA was renamed the Uganda People’s Defence Force-UPDF.

Here is the list

1.Gen Ivan Koreta.

Koreta has been a member of the armed forces since 1981 and most recently served as the deputy chief of defense forces, the second-highest position in the UPDF, from 2005 to 2013.

 He also served from 2006 up until 2009 as the chairman of the General Court Martial, the second-highest military court in Uganda.

2.Lt Gen Pecos Onesmus Kuteesa is a 2 star General

Lt Gen Kuteesa’s has served since 1976 when he became a member of FRONASA which was another group formed to fight President Idi Amin.

Kuteesa joined FRONASA after completing S6 and was trained at Munduli military academy in Tanzania.

After Amin was overthrown, Kuteesa was deployed to command Nakasongola military schools which he later deserted to join the NRA of Museveni to fight Dr. Milton Obote government.

Kuteesa once served as Museveni’s ADC and a member of parliament representing the Army.

Kuteesa was in 1994 voted to a member of the Constituent Assembly representing Kabula and the group was responsible for the establishment of the current Uganda Constitution 1995 even though it has severally been amended.

3.Lt Gen Jim Beesigye Owoyesigyire.

Since February 2018, the 2 star General was Commander of the five-nation AMISOM peacekeeping force, based in Mogadishu, Somalia.

When he assumed that responsibility, he took over from Lieutenant General Osman Noor Soubagleh, of the Djibouti Armed Forces, who had been in office since July 2016.

 In February 2019, he relinquished command of AMISOM to Lieutenant General Tigabu Yilma Wondimhunegn from the Ethiopian National Defense Force (ENDF).

The Amisom command is rotational among countries that contribute troops to the peace-keeping efforts in Somalia, namely Burundi, Djibouti, Ethiopia, Kenya and Uganda.[2]

4.Maj Gen Christopher Kazoora Murema,

5.Maj Gen Moses Wadimba Ssentongo,

6.Maj Gen Robert Rusoke

Rusoke is the current overall supervisor of the Covid19 joint security task force.

7.Maj Gen Innocent George Oula.

8.Brig-Gen Moses Kigongo

9.Brig-Gen Jacob Asiimwe

10.Brig-Gen Moses Shaban Lukyamuzi

11. Brig-Gen Muhammed Abiriga

12.Brig Gen John Araali Kasaija

13. Brig Gen Frank Kanyarutokye

14.Gen Moses Shaban Lukyamuzi