On-Form Wakiso Giants

A wonderful first-half display from Wakiso Giants gave them a 3-1 win over SC Villa in a League game played at Kavumba Recreation Grounds on Wednesday, November 03.

Wakiso scored three goals in 14 first-half minutes, the first through Titus Ssematimba from Edward Satulo’s pass on nine minutes and the Purple Sharks continued to pound their rivals as Moses Aliro swept home Masiko Grant’s assist, 11 minutes later.

Wakiso had not defeated Villa since promotion to the top flight in 2019 all but put the contest to bed on 23 minutes with Ssematimba completing his brace thanks to Ibrahim Kasule’s work and this left the Greek coach just shaking his head on the touchline.

A first half substitution as Ali Bayo replaced Salim Abdallah saw the hosts improve and were rewarded just past the hour mark as Fahad Kawooya fouled Travis Mutyaba to enable Umar Lutalo net on the rebound after missing from the initial attempt, from the spot.

The scoreline would have probably looked more kind to Petros Koukouras’ side but Goffin Oyirwoth missed while one-on-one with Derrick Emukule.

Wakiso Giants came in the second half like as if they were in a training session just making short passes on the pitch whereas the Jogoos kept on looking for ways of scoring goals at their efforts were fruitless.

Victory sees Wakiso climb into 4th on the standings with nine points. Despite losing both their opening two games, the Purple Sharks are just four points behind leaders KCCA FC (13).

For Villa, they drop to 14th with three points from two games having started late in the league after FUFA had temporariry stopped them due to license issues.

On-Form Wakiso Giants

In their next fixtures, Villa are away to eternal rivals Express on Saturday in a Kampala derby in November 20, a day after Wakiso Giants host Tooro United.

SC Villa

SC Villa; Meddie Kibirige (GK), Fred Agandu, Joseph Kafumbe, Gavin Kizito, Kenneth Semakula, Amir Kakomo, Umar Lutalo, Salim Abdullah, Goffin Orirwoth, Isaac Ogwang, Oscar Mawa.

Wakiso giants FC

Wakiso giants FC; Emukule Derrick (GK), Namwanja Simon, Satulo Edward, Kawooya Fahad, Masiko Grant, Bukenya Lawrence, Senfuka Rahmat, Ssematimba Titus, Kasule- Ibrahim, Aliro Moses, Ssebufu Frank.