Thomas Tayebwa the Chief Whip has resigned his position to pursue Deputy Speakership of the 11th Parliament on the ruling National Resistance Movement (NRM) ticket.

Tayebwa was endorsed by the NRM Parliamentary caucus after the seat fell vacant following Anita Among’s  resignation.

During the party’s meeting held at the Kololo independence grounds on Thursday, Tayebwa was chosen  unopposed after his withdrew from the race.

He will now tussle it out with FDC’s Okot P’Bitek Moses who was endorsed today for the deputy speaker race.

Members of Parliament on the opposition have on Thursday endorsed two candidates to vie for Speaker and Deputy Speaker of Parliament of the 11th Parliament.

The legislators comprising of members from various political parties like JEEMA, Forum for Democratic Change (FDC), National Unity Platform (NUP) ,Uganda people’s Congress (UPC) and Democratic Party(DP) sat today as an opposition caucus and voted through a secret ballot.

The Bugiri Municipality MP and JEEMA party boss Asuman Basalirwa took the day after polling  49 votes against his rival Jonathan Odur’s  who garnered 20 votes.

Basaalirwa will compete against Anita Among for the ruling National Resistance Movement on Friday during a special sitting at the Kololo Independence grounds. Meanwhile, Okot will tussle it out with NRM’s Thomas Tayebwa who has been endorsed unopposed by the NRM caucus to run for for Deputy Speaker.

Article 82(4) of the Constitution of Uganda provides that  no business shall be transacted in Parliament other than election to the office of Speaker at any time that office is vacant.

The deceased speaker Jacob Oulanyah will be buried after the election of a new speaker.