Yunus Sentamu helps Vipers

courtesy of Yunus Sentamu’s goals.

Yunus Sentamu helped himself to a brace to take his tally to 13 for the season while Bright Anukani netted the third which was a beauty.

Despite a slow start to the game, the Venoms looked to be in control of the proceedings throughout the entire game to the final whistle.

Express who have shown improvement in the last few weeks, apart from the loss to Onduparaka, were clearly second best and never seemed like halting Vipers’ march towards a second League crown in three years.

Victory means Vipers stay 14 points ahead of second placed KCCA FC who defeated Tooro United 2-0 on the same day, with only four games to play.

For Express who have now lost five games this season, they stay in 6th with 42 points, only fighting for the club’s respect.

Vipers have been the best side in the country over the last 10 months and that is something no one can dispute.

They came into Friday’s contest having lost only two games all season with the defeat to URA in November their only one at home.

With a possibility of a first-ever double on the cards, they wanted to seal the UPL crown as early as possible.

There first realistic attempt saw Mukundane pick-up Sentamu’s late run to side-foot home at the back post on 26 minutes.

The goal looked to have settled them down and after Denis Otim denied Bobosi Byaruhanga from distance, Mukundane’s knock-back set-up Sentamu for the second goal eight minutes later.

With Express trying to get back into the game, the hosts had chances to hit them on the break but it was just-not happening.

Yunus Sentamu helps Vipers

Top scorer Ceaser Manzoki looked off colour on the day but could’ve registered his name on the score-sheet mid-way through the second half only to head wide Disan Galiwango’s Cross.

It always seemed like a matter of time before they scored a third and it came just before the hour mark as Anukani fired in from outside the area after he was set-up by the energetic Kalisa.

How Both Teams Started 

Vipers SC 

Denis Kiggundu (GK), Hillary Mukundane, Halid Lwaliwa, Disan Ggaliwango, Livingstone Mulondo, Siraje Sentamu, Bobosi Byaruhanga, Bright Anukani, Yunus Sentamu, Milton Kalisa, Ceaser Manzoki.

Express FC

Denis Otim (GK), John Byamukama, Arthur Kiggundu  Murushid Juuko, Isa Lumu, Abel Eturude, Martin Kizza, Ivan Mayanja, Eric Kambale, Enock Sebagala, Joseph Akandwanaho.