FUFA confirms 20 teams

FUFA has confirmed 20 schools that will take part in the inaugural CAF African Schools Programme. The Programme has a CAF African Schools Championship that was launched earlier this year with 41 Member Associations taking part.

According to the fufa website, the National Championship in Uganda will be staged between 15th -24th July at FUFA Technical Centre, Njeru.

FUFA 1st Vice President Justus Mugisha briefed the media about the intentions of the tournament indicating it will help in improving grassroots football.

“CAF President Dr. Patrice Motsepe understands the importance of Grassroot football and he thought it wise through the Motsepe Foundation to have this Programme spreading across its Member Associations,” he started.

“Grassroot football especially in Africa is within schools. Therefore, this intervention will help to create an organized platform for players at a young age.”

The 20 Schools selected include;

St. Mary’s Boarding SS, Kitende
Buddo SS
Standard High School- Zzana
Teso College Aloet
Amus College
Kibuli SS
Jinja SS
Mukono Kings High School
Dynamic SS
Royal Giant School

Kawempe Muslim SS
Uganda Martyrs High School- Lubaga
Rines SS
Jinja SS
Wakiso Hill SS
King of Kings, Fort Portal
Tagy High School
Gadhafi Integrated Academy
Olila High School
Royal College Namugongo

FUFA confirms 20 teams

According to FUFA Deputy CEO-Football, Decolas Kiiza, selection of the aforementioned schools was based on their performance in recent schools Championships organised by USSSA.