traveling Uganda Cranes

Uganda Cranes head coach Milutin Sredojevic, fondly called Micho, has named the final 23-man team set to play the Eastern region select at the Mbale Municipal Stadium.

The team had a single training session in Kampala yesterday afternoon and will conduct the final training today on Friday at the Mbale Municipal Stadium.

Three players; Ashraf Mugume, Sadat Happy Anaku and Rogers Mato were added to the earlier summoned team.

Meanwhile, Gavin Kizito Mugweri, Vianney Ssekajugo, Cromwell Rwothomio, Kenneth Semakula and Steven Mukwala who had been called up earlier did not make the travelling list, for different personal reasons.

Previously, Uganda Cranes had a regional tour to Kitara region at Buhinga play ground in Fort Portal. Due to COVID-19 restrictions, fans will not access the Mbale Municipal Stadium but will duly be served with live proceedings via UBC Television and across all the official social media platforms of FUFA.

The Eastern region tour kick-starts the preparations for the FIFA World Cup 2022 double header against Rwanda in October 2021.

Rwanda will host the first leg on October 6, 2021 in Kigali before the return leg at St Mary’s Stadium, Kitende four days later.

Uganda Cranes main sponsors Airtel and Nile Breweries Limited jointly fund the regional tours, also meant to take the national team brand closer to the populace in their respective localities.

Uganda Cranes team to Eastern Uganda:

Goalkeepers: Nafian Alionzi (URA), Simon Tamale (Soltilo Bright Stars), Jack Komakech (Vipers).

Defenders: Innocent Wafula (KCCA), Ashraf Mandela (URA), George Kaddu (Wakiso Giants), Herbert Achai (KCCA), Denis Iguma (KCCA), Geofrey Wasswa (KCCA), Musa Ramathan (KCCA), Najib Fesali (URA), Patrick Mbowa (URA).

traveling Uganda Cranes

Midfielders: Shafik Kagimu (URA), Ibrahim Wamanna (UPDF), Julius Poloto (KCCA), Joackim Ojera (URA), Mubaraka Nsubuga (Police), Ashraf Mugume (KCCA), Rogers Mato (KCCA).

Forwards: Jude Ssemugabi (Mbarara City), Brian Aheebwa (KCCA), Davis Kasirye (KCCA), Sadat Happy Anaku (KCCA).